>

HOME>WESTERN PA>BLACK LICK COALFIELD>WATERMAN

WATERMAN, PA

Waterman No. 1 Mine opened in 1913. Brush Creek Mining Co., a Rochester & Pittsburgh Coal Co. subsidiary, kept Waterman Nos. 1 and 2 mines open until 1952. Waterman was R&P president Lucius Robinson's middle name.


May 2003 image by author

Superintendent's house at Waterman, PA.


May 2003 image by author

There are still many homes at the Waterman patch.


May 2003 image by author

The company houses were built by the Hyde-Murphy Company, who had experience building coal company towns. The coal company sold the houses to residents in 1947.


WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA COALFIELDS

APPALACHIAN COALFIELDS HOME